Artist, Designer, Traveler, Writer, Photographer

“MIND’S EYE”

Sometimes ideas float around for quite a while before the opportunity or impetus for acting on it comes along.

While doing some websearching for exhibition opportunities I came across one for a gallery in London. The timeline was short but the topic was intriguing~”Gold”.  A “match” came to mind, the thumbnail from some time back for the shaped drawing for which I already had the title in mind, “Mind’s Eye”. I would use a simple but dramatic palette of black and metallic gold.

Using the familiar and favored Okawara paper, I decided to use a roughly roundish shape with the staining process of recent work. But the addition of gold to the mix caused me to consider my options. I decided to use a metallic acrylic with a thicker, adhesive quality normally used on fabric but perfectly at home on paper. Although it came with a tip that allowed me to “draw” lines with the paint, I used a brush as well.

This is the result~A second work with the same palette on Okawara is in progress.

MIND'S EYE 2012Acrylic/Okawara paperApprox. 35

MIND’S EYE 2012
Acrylic/Okawara paper
Approx. 35″ diameter

Leave a comment